More1and1 installation problems

More1and1 installation problems

by Diane Hawkins -
Number of replies: 82

I have read with interest the discussion on installing Moodle to 1and1 (UK) servers. I am very new to this, so apologies if I sound silly.

I set up my blank database using 1and1's MySQL interface, which created the database, user name, password etc and nothing else, so totally empty database.

I then ran installer.php and entered all required info.

After the accept licence page I was taken to a white page with the following displayed:

Setting up database

No warnings - Scroll to the continue button

(mysql): SHOW TABLES  

(mysql): SHOW LOCAL VARIABLES LIKE 'character_set_database'  

(mysql): SET NAMES 'utf8'  

(mysql): SHOW LOCAL VARIABLES LIKE 'character_set_database'  
It's been on this page for well over an hour now with nothing seeming to happen. There is no continue button at the bottom of the page, or any green confirmations as it describes in Moodle.docs. Clicking on the "scroll to continue" button doesn't change the page. There is a yellow triangle with an error on page message at the bottom left of my screen.
Server Operating System name (version also if possible): 1&1 Linux Hosting Browser name (version also if possible): IE7 Moodle version: latest weekly 19 Moodle install type? (New/Upgrade): New Moodle config.php attached?(N): I had confirmation this was written, but I can't find it in the moodle directory on my web host Phpinfo attached? (Y): Please see below

register_globals=off
safe_mode=off
memory_limit=128M
session.save_handler=FILES
magic_quotes_gpc=ON
magic_quotes_runtime=off
file_uploads=ON
session.auto_start=OFF
session.bug_compat_warn=OFF
AcceptPathInfo=on

Should I just leave it overnight, or is something wrong? Any help greatly appreciated. If you need more info I will do my best to supply it.

Many thanks,

Diane

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Diane Hawkins

Re: More1and1 installation problems

by Diane Hawkins -