Securing moodle data directory

Securing moodle data directory

by David Forrest -
Number of replies: 12
Hi, I am new to Moodle and to Unix servers. My Moodle site is running on a cheap Unix-based hosted service.

I have just successfully installed Moodle 1.9.3 (I think, in any case 1.9+).

In going through the admin area, I see in Notifications:

"Your site configuration might not be secure. Please make sure that your dataroot directory (/.../www/moodledata) is not directly accessible via web."

Hmmm... Don't know what to do to secure the site.

The file permissions seem to be currently wide open, but I don't know if that means someone needs to be logged in to my web hosting service to do anything or not.

File permissions of directory: drwxrwxrwx

Owner of directory: You (me, I could also choose "webserver")

Any idea what I should do?

Thanks for any advice!

Dave

Average of ratings: -
In reply to David Forrest

Re: Securing moodle data directory

by Jeffery Watkins -
Dave,

The moodledata folder should be outside of the /www/ folder.

The permissions need to be wide open for Moodle to write to it when necessary. It will be inaccessible to everyone when it sits outside of the /www/ folder.

Jeff
In reply to Jeffery Watkins

by Richard Enison -
DF (& JW),

More generally, it should be outside of the web document root folder (directory), which is not always called www. It is the folder that the main part of your URL (that is, the part up to the first single /; for example, in http://your.domain.com/moodle/lib/weblib.php, it is http://your.domain.com/) points to.

Sometimes this is not possible, as with a commercial web host that does not allow it. In that case, the web server should be configured so that files in the data folder are not served to web browsers.

For more details, see the link in KAW's post.

RLE
In reply to Jeffery Watkins

by E. L. Cooper -